Category Archives: rules

Know the Rules: Movable Obstructions

An obstruction is something that is artificial, except for walls, stakes, fences, etc., that define out of bounds. Growing trees, bushes, weeds, and such are natural objects and are not obstructions. They are part of the course. If an obstruction can be moved without unreasonable effort, without causing delay, and without causing damage, it is a movable obstruction.

To get relief for a ball lying beside a movable obstruction, you may move the obstruction. You do not get to lift your ball and drop it elsewhere. If the ball moves because of your moving the obstruction, you must replace the ball with no penalty.

If the ball lies in or on the obstruction, you may lift the ball and move the obstruction. The ball is then to be dropped as near as possible to the spot directly under where it lay in or on the obstruction, and not nearer the hole. You may clean the ball when so lifted.


If the ball is moving, an obstruction that might influence it, other than the flagstick or equipment of any of the players, may not be moved. The penalty for doing so is two strokes.

All this is in Rule 24-1. Now for the fun stuff.

An incorrect ruling regarding this rule helped Ernie Els win the U.S. Open at Oakmont in 1994. Els drove his ball into the left rough. His shot to the green was blocked by a camera tower. The tower was mounted on a tracked vehicle, which could have been moved without delay, but the tower was ruled to be an immovable obstruction (to be discussed next week). Els got a free drop to a better lie which most likely saved him a stroke on the hole. He went on to beat Colin Montgomery and Loren Roberts in a playoff.

Deep Rules: You may not hold onto the ball when you move an obstruction. That would be a violation of Rule 18-2a, and a two-stroke penalty would apply.

A ball can become lost in an obstruction, but there must be reasonable evidence that this occurred. A surmise is not good enough. Without reasonable evidence that the ball was lost in the obstruction, the ball must be treated as a lost ball. If the ball is lost in the obstruction, the obstruction is to be moved and another ball dropped as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball last crossed the outermost limits of the obstruction, but not nearer to the hole.

See also Know the Rules: Immovable Obstructions

My new book, The Golfing Self, is now available at www.therecreationalgolfer.com. It will change everything about the way you play.

Know the Rules: Hitting the Wrong Ball

The embarrassing error of hitting the wrong ball comes about for one of two reasons. Either the person hitting the ball wasn’t paying attention, or the ball that was hit was not properly identified. There’s really no other way this can happen, and the fixes are easy.

Put an identifying mark on your ball with a colored felt-tip pen. This is suggested by Rules 6-5 and 12-2. It can be a dot, two dots, something that makes your ball stand out from the others being played by the members of your group. I fill in a dimple with green ink next to the manufacturer’s logo. Tell the members of your group what ball you’re playing and show them the mark before you tee off on the first hole.


When you get up to the ball that you think is yours, look at it. Check to see that it is the same brand as yours and has the same mark you drew on it. Get into the habit of checking before you hit any shot. Check before you hit your tee shot to be sure your ball is marked. Check on every shot up to the green. Once you get to the green, check to be sure the ball you’re about to mark and pick up is yours.

Let’s say that despite these precautions, you hit someone else’s ball. What now?

You must correct the mistake. Go to where your ball lies and play it, taking a two-stroke penalty. The stroke you made on the wrong ball does not count on your score. The owner of the ball you hit must place a ball on the spot where the wrong ball was hit and play from there, with no penalty. If you do not correct your mistake before you tee off on the next hole, you are disqualified. These procedures are found in Rule 15-3.

So far, so good. Now let’s have some fun. What happens if you hit a wrong ball, correct it by hitting your ball, but come to realize that wasn’t your ball, either. You’ve hit a wrong ball twice in a row. Fortunately the Rule book is kind. You only have to take one two-stroke penalty for hitting a wrong ball, not a four-stroke penalty for hitting two wrong balls.

Deep Rule: Say you and another player in your group are playing the same brand and number of ball, and neither are marked. (You can sense something bad is about to happen, can’t you?) Say that you both hit up to the green and each ball settles into deep rough on the right side. You both go up to where the two balls are lying and see that they are about a foot apart, but which ball is whose? You don’t want to take a penalty for hitting a wrong ball, so what do you do?

That was a trick question. Right ball or wrong ball is not the issue here. If you cannot identify which ball is yours, it is a lost ball (Definitions). Since neither of you marked the ball in play, each ball is lost and each of you must take a stroke-and-distance penalty. This situation, or some form of it where a player is confronted with two balls and is unable to say which one is his/hers, happens more often than you would think in amateur competition.

Please. Always put an identifying mark on your ball. Always check to see that the ball you’re about to hit is yours. It’s so simple to do, and it saves you so much grief.

My new book, The Golfing Self, is now available at www.therecreationalgolfer.com. It will change everything about the way you play.

USGA To Rule On Anchoring the Putter

The April 30 edition of GolfWorld magazine magazine contained a brief article saying that the USGA and R&A are seeking a way to ban or limit anchoring the putter for inclusion in the 2016 rules revision.

The opening paragraph in GolfWorld reads:
“A change to the Rules of Golf that would limit golfers’ ability to anchor long putters and other clubs against the body is looking more likely, judging from R&A officials’ comments during a press conference April 23 to promote this summer’s British Open at Royal Lytham & St. Annes.”

The article described “discussions with the USGA on the matter as proceeding at an intense pace.”


Further, “The governing bodies are looking at Rule 14, which defines a stroke, as opposed to restricting the length of the club.”

So far, this looks to me like a solution in search of a problem. There was no controversy until last year when Webb Simpson won twice and Keegan Bradley won a major championship, both using an anchored putter. If you look at the Strokes Gained, Putting rankings, there is no trend for players who anchor their putter to be at the top.

However one putts, one still has to read the green correctly, get the speed right, aim oneself properly, get the staring line right, make a flawless stroke, and have supreme confidence all the while. I don’t know how an anchored putter makes those things easier to achieve. I have seen both Simpson and Bradley putt in other tournaments where they couldn’t hit their hat.

How a Rules change would affect the career of players who have established themselves putting one way and would in 2016 have to learn a completely different style, I will leave to the players affected and their attorneys.

The real issue for the world of golf concerns players who have a bad back. I wrote earlier this year in this space about the effect that banning a long putter would have on the many thousands of amateur golfers who play with a bad back and need a long putter in order to keep playing.

By targeting Rule 14 rather than restricting the length of the club, it would appear that the USGA is taking our needs into account. We can only encourage them by writing to them to express our concern.

If you need an accommodation in putting because of a bad back, please write to the USGA to express your concern over any rule change that would affect your ability to play.

The USGA does not seem to have an e-mail address for general correspondence. Their mailing address is:

The United States Golf Association
P.O. Box 708
Far Hills, N.J. 07931

You may also telephone them at 908-234-2300, FAX 908-234-9687.

Visit www.therecreationalgolfer.com

Know the Rules: Water Hazards (Red Stakes)

There are two kinds of water hazards. Last week we talked about the ones marked by yellow stakes. Those are water hazards you have to hit over. This week we’ll talk about water hazards marked by red stakes. These are called lateral water hazards. They are defined by water that generally runs alongside the direction of play.

Imagine there is a small stream running alongside the fairway from tee to green, about ten feet wide, and you hit your ball into the hazard containing the stream. You may play the ball as it lies with no penalty. You may not ground the sole of your club or remove loose impediments,


You may also, while taking a one-stroke penalty,
a. Play another ball from where you hit the one that went in the hazard,
b. Go back as far as you want to on a line connecting the spot where the ball entered the hazard and the hole (this could be on the other side of the hazard),
c. drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole.

Why would you want to drop on the opposite side of the lateral water hazard? One reason would be that you might end up closer to the hole than if you exercised option b. Another reason could be that there might be no place where you could exercise option c(i). Imagine a green complex that looks like the one below.

The pond on the right side of the green is marked with red stakes. It is possible that you could hit the ball into the water and have no place on the near side of the hazard to drop the ball that is not closer to the hole than the hazard (c(i)). If this were a stream, you could exercise option c(ii). This, however, is a large pond. The other side is over 80 yards away. You probably wouldn’t use option b, or option c(ii), since they would both leave you with a long shot over the pond. Your best choice would be to go back to the tee and play from there (option a).

My new book, The Golfing Self, is now available at www.therecreationalgolfer.com. It will change everything about the way you play.

Know the Rules: Water Hazards (Yellow Stakes)

When you hit a ball into a water hazard, the procedures can be complicated. It all depends on which kind of water hazard you hit into. They can be marked with either yellow stakes or red stakes, and the procedure for each is different. This week we will talk about hazards marked by yellow stakes. Water hazards marked by red stakes are lateral water hazards, which we will discuss next week. This is all in Rule 26.

The first thing to do is to determine whether or not your ball is in the hazard. If you cannot find your ball, the rules say it is a question of fact that it is in the water hazard. For example, you saw it go into the pond and splash, or you saw it roll toward the pond and disappear in weeds lining the pond. In the absence of such knowledge or virtual certainty that the ball is in the water hazard, you must call it a lost ball and proceed accordingly.

It is possible that your ball can be in the hazard, but not in any water. The boundary of a water hazard is defined by yellow stakes, and is the straight line connecting the nearest outside faces of adjoining yellow stakes. If your ball is inside this line, or even resting on it, your ball is in the hazard. The stakes themselves are inside the hazard, and are obstructions.

If you find your ball, you may play it without penalty. You may not ground your club in the hazard at any time before the stroke is made, and you may not remove any loose impediments in the hazard. If you do not find the ball, or you do but choose not to play it, you have two options (Rule 26-1). Both are accompanied by a one-stroke penalty.

You may go back to where the ball was originally played, drop another ball and play from there, or,

You may drop a ball behind the water hazard on a line connecting the hole and the spot where the ball crossed the boundary line of the hazard. You may go as far back as you like along this line to take your drop. [I once hit my tee shot into a pond and took my drop about twenty yards back, where there was much a much better lie available. I hit my 5-iron to less than a foot from the hole and tapped in for par.]

In both cases, you may clean your ball or substitute another one.

If the ball is moving in a water hazard, you may make a stroke at it, but you must do so without delay. You cannot wait until a moving ball comes to a more favorable position for the stroke. You may lift the ball while it is moving in the water in order to exercise one of the two options above.

Deep Rules:
(a) You are in a bunker and hit the ball over the green into a water hazard on the other side of the green, and the ball is not playable from there. You may either (1) go around to the tee side of the water hazard and play over the hazard after dropping a ball on the extended line between the hole and the spot where the ball crossed into the hazard, or (2) drop a ball in the bunker from where the original stroke was played. There’s a one-stroke penalty in each case.

(b) There was reason to believe your ball went into the hazard, but you couldn’t find it and played another ball under Rule 26-1. Then later find your original ball and it was not in the hazard. Unfortunately, when you made a stroke on the new ball, that became the ball in play, and the original ball became a lost ball.

(c) If a ball is lost near a water hazard, but there is no reasonable evidence that it is in the hazard, it must be treated as a lost ball if not found, not as a ball lost in a water hazard. That’s to prevent someone from avoiding the lost ball penalties, which are more severe than the water hazard penalties.

My new book, The Golfing Self, is now available at www.therecreationalgolfer.com. It will change everything about the way you play.

Know the Rules: Ball on a Cart Path

It’s not unusual for a golf ball to wind up on a cart path. It’s also not unusual for a player not to know what to do.

A cart path is an immovable obstruction (See Obstructions, Definitions; Rule 24-2).

You get a free drop from the cart path, but it has to be taken at the right spot. That spot is based on the nearest point of relief. Many people think this point is off the side of the path closest to where the ball is resting, but that is not so. Remember that the nearest point of relief is the spot where the ball would lie when you take a stance, with the club you would normally use to hit the upcoming shot, in the direction you would be hitting it, and not be interfered with by the cart path in any way.

The best way to determine the nearest point of relief off a cart path is to establish a point of relief on each side of the path, marking each one with a tee, and then measuring from the ball to each point to find which point is the nearest to where the ball lies.

Once the nearest point of relief has been found, measure one club-length away from that spot, but no nearer to the hole, and put another tee in the ground. Use any club you like to make that measurement. If it’s your driver, take off the clubhead cover first.

Pick up your ball from the cart path and drop it so it hits the ground somewhere between the two tees and behind the line between them. As soon as you have a legal drop, play on.

If the ball rolls back onto the cart path, you must drop it again. If the ball rolls onto the path again, you must place the ball as close as possible to the spot where it hit a part of the course, usually the ground.

What happens if the cart path is right next to a bush, and the nearest point of relief is inside the bush, and one club length from it would be either inside the bush or in a place where the bush obstructs your swing? You can substitute “tree” for “bush” and the problem is the same. Those objects are not obstructions, but part of the course, so you get no further relief from them.

The answer is that you might be better off playing the ball as it lies on the cart path. Just because you can take a drop doesn’t mean you have to take a drop. Once you pick the ball up, though, you are obliged to drop it, so think about it first.

Once again:
1. Find the point of relief on each side of the cart path and drop the ball within one club-length of the point closest to the ball, but no nearer to the hole.
2. If it is difficult or impossible to play from there, you might have to play the ball as it lies on the cart path.

My new book, The Golfing Self, is now available at www.therecreationalgolfer.com. It will change everything about the way you play.

Know the Rules: Dropping the Ball

There are times when you can drop the ball to get relief from an obstruction, or when putting a ball in play after a penalty has been incurred. We’ll talk about those situations later, but today I want to go over the procedures surrounding dropped balls. They’re not simple. Actually, just dropping the ball is simple. You hold the ball out at shoulder height and arm’s length, open your fingers, and let it go. Enjoy the ride down, because all the fun starts when the ball hits the ground.

Once the ball is dropped and comes to rest*, it is in play unless it: (this is straight from the rule book)

(i) rolls into and comes to rest in a hazard;
(ii) rolls out of and comes to rest outside a hazard;
(iii) rolls onto and comes to rest on a putting green;
(iv) rolls and comes to rest out of bounds;
(v) rolls to and comes to rest in a position where there is interference by the condition from which relief was taken under Rule 24-2b (immovable obstruction), Rule 25-1 (abnormal ground conditions), Rule 25-3 (wrong putting green) or a Local Rule (Rule 33-8a), or rolls back into the pitch-mark from which it was lifted under Rule 25-2 (embedded ball);
(vi) rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it first struck a part of the course; or
(vii) rolls and comes to rest nearer the hole than:
  (a) its original position or estimated position (see Rule 20-2b) unless otherwise permitted by the Rules; or
  (b) the nearest point of relief or maximum available relief (Rule 24-2, 25-1 or 25-3); or
  (c) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or lateral water hazard (Rule 26-1).

In any of these cases, you must re-drop the ball, without penalty. If the re-dropped ball does one of these things again, you must place the ball as near as possible to the spot where it hit the ground on the second drop. Fortunately, most of these cases are rare. The ones that occur most often are (v) and (vii).

Deep Rules: If the dropped ball comes to rest but then moves again, it is played as it lies without penalty. If the dropped ball is not recoverable, such as it rolls into a pond, another ball may be substituted.

All of this is found in Rule 20-2.

The penalty for an illegal drop is one stroke, but if the mistake is corrected before the ball is played, there is no penalty (Rule 20-6).

*More Deep Rules: “Comes to rest” is the operative phrase. The ball does not have to hit the ground. It only has to strike part of the course. If it comes to rest in a bush without hitting the ground, it is play. If it strikes a branch on the way down, it has struck a part of the course and in play where it comes to rest, except for (i) through (vii) above.

Practical advice:
Many times you will be dropping the ball onto less-than-ideal ground. Since the ball is held an arm’s length away from you, it’s hard to tell exactly where the ball will hit the ground and end up. You want to be left with the best lie possible within the limits the rules allow. You should therefore practice dropping the ball, so you can predict just where the ball will land. When it comes time to drop the ball on the course, you’ll know how to drop it on the best spot of ground, again, within limits, to increase your chances of getting a good lie after the drop. And no tricks. It’s a gravity-fed drop only.

My new book, The Golfing Self, is now available at www.therecreationalgolfer.com. It will change everything about the way you play.

Know the Rules: Nearest Point of Relief

Perhaps the primary rule of golf is to play the ball as it lies. There are several circumstances, however, under which a player may lift the ball and drop it elsewhere to get relief from certain conditions.

Relief is often based on finding a reference point called the nearest point of relief, which is defined in the Definitions section. It is the spot nearest to where the ball lies, and not nearer to the hole, from where a player can make the stroke the player would have made from the original position had the interference from which relief is being sought not been present.

In finding this point, the player must simulate the address position and stroke, with the same club, and swing in the same direction, as if the interference from which the player is taking relief were not present. For example, if a player would have made a right-handed stroke with a 4-iron toward the green were the condition not there, that is the stroke he must simulate to find the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief from a particular spot might be different for a right- and left-handed golfer.

Determining the nearest point of relief can get tricky. If it appears that the nearest point of relief is an unplayable lie, such as tall grass, this does not change where the nearest point of relief is. In this case, the player might choose not to take relief and to play the ball instead from where it lies.

After finding the nearest point of relief, the player must hit the ball in the same direction that was used to find that point.

If playing from the nearest point of relief means a club different from the one used to determine the nearest point of relief is now a better choice, the player may use the different club.

It is possible that the nearest point of relief is inside an object, like a tree trunk, or cannot be physically determined because a barrier prevents taking an address position. In these cases, the player must estimate where that point would be if those complications were not there.

My new book, The Golfing Self, is now available at www.therecreationalgolfer.com. It will change everything about the way you play.

Wartime Rules of Golf

Think you play on a tough course? You ain’t seen nothing like this, from the Richmond Golf Club in Surrey, England, promulgated in 1941:

1. Players are asked to collect bomb and shrapnel splinters to save these causing damage to the mowing machines.

2. In competitions, during gunfire or while bombs are falling, players may take shelter without penalty for ceasing play.

3. The position of known delayed action bombs are marked by red flags at a reasonable, but not guaranteed, safe distance therefrom.

4. Shrapnel and/or bomb splinters on the fairways or in bunkers, within a club’s length of a ball, may be moved without penalty, and no penalty shall be incurred if a ball is thereby caused to move accidentally.

5. A ball moved by enemy action may be replaced or, if lost or destroyed, a ball may be dropped not nearer the hole without penalty.

6. A ball lying in a crater may be lifted and dropped not nearer the hole, preserving the line to the hole, without penalty.

7. A player whose stroke is affected by the simultaneous explosion of a bomb may play another ball. Penalty one stroke.

Most writers would try to come up with a witty comment on each rule, but they exceed anything I could even imagine. Play well, and have fun. And play in peace.

Visit www.therecreationalgolfer.com

Know the Rules: The Teeing Ground

This post is the beginning of a weekly review of the rules of golf. Every Friday I will go over one rule in detail so you know, really know, what that rule is and how it affects the way you play the game. The rules do three things for us. They make the game fair, they hold us accountable for our mistakes, and they make golf easier to play. Knowing them is part of being a golfer.

I will discuss only the most obvious and common occurrences. If an unusual situation warrants it, I will mention a Deep Rule – something that hardly ever occurs but can be confusing or has serious consequences if not handled properly.

Today’s rule is Rule 11 – Teeing Ground.

The teeing ground is the designated place from where you start play on a hole, but it is not the entire prepared area. That’s commonly called the tee box. The teeing ground is a rectangle defined by a line connecting the tee markers, and going back from there a distance of two club-lengths. You can measure with any club.

The most important rule is that the ball must be played from within the teeing ground defined above. You can stand outside it, but the ball must be inside it. If you play a ball that is outside the teeing ground, it is a two-stroke penalty and another ball must (must, not can) be played from within the teeing ground. Deep Rule: If this mistake is not corrected before the player tees off on the next hole, the player is disqualified. Deep Rule: If a ball played from outside the teeing ground goes out of bounds or into a water hazard, those penalties do not apply because that ball was not in play. Only the penalty and procedure for playing the ball outside the teeing ground applies.

I like to tee the ball about a foot behind the markers to make sure there is never a question here. You can also use the rectangle to your advantage. Say you’re on the tee of a par 3 and between clubs. If you want to go with the longer club, you can tee up at the back of the tee box and take two yards off the shot just like that.

If you knock the ball off the tee while addressing it, tee it up again without penalty. If the ball falls off the tee on its own, tee it back up with no penalty. If you swing at the ball and hit it while it is falling off the tee, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty. If you swing at the ball and knick it slightly so it rolls off the tee even a few inches, the ball is in play at that spot and may not be re-teed without penalty.

Tee markers are considered to be fixed and may not be moved for any reason (two-stroke penalty). Keep them there. Don’t touch them. After the first stroke, though, they are to be treated as an obstruction. If movable, they may be moved.

It has happened to me several times that I get to the tee box and there is only one tee marker, or the two markers are lying to the side of the tee box because the maintenance guy who mowed the tee box forgot to put them back. Now what?

When tee marker(s) are missing in a tournament round, a tournament official should be called to correct the situation before play continues. If one is missing in a casual round, estimate where the other tee marker should be according to the shape of the hole and play on. When both tee markers are missing or not in place, tee up next to the marker that is in the ground indicating the measuring point for the set of tees in question. In either of these two cases, though, call the clubhouse and let them know about it.

My new book, The Golfing Self, is now available at www.therecreationalgolfer.com. It will change everything about the way you play.